Saudi Arabia lifts travel ban for expatriate residents from 20 countries

Saudi Arabia lifted a travel ban on Tuesday for expatriate residents from 20 countries imposed in February to curb the spread of COVID-19, according to the Ministry of the Interior.

Travelers who have received both vaccine doses while in Saudi Arabia will now be allowed to travel back to the Kingdom without quarantining.

For more coronavirus news, visit our dedicated page.

The 20 countries are: The United Arab Emirates, Lebanon, Egypt, India, Argentina, Germany, the US, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Pakistan, Brazil, Portugal, the UK, Turkey, the Republic of South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, France, and Japan.

The Saudi ambassador to Lebanon, Walid al-Bukhari, announced that instructions were issued to lift the suspension of direct entry to the Kingdom for residents who received two doses of the vaccine before their departure from the countries from which the entry is suspended.

The Embassy of the Kingdom in Cairo also tweeted the decision to lift the suspension of direct entry to Saudi Arabia for vaccinated residents.

Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of the Interior imposed the ban on February 2 in order to prevent transmitting new cases of COVID-19.

Citizens, diplomats, health practitioners, and their families were exempt from the ban.

In July, the Ministry of the Interior announced that Saudi citizens who broke COVID-19 travel rules would be banned from traveling for three years.

Those who traveled to prohibited countries would also receive large fines.

The Kingdom opened its borders to vaccinated tourists on August 1, according to the tourism ministry.

By admin